Last Updated: Sep 21, 2011
This guide links you to a select number of web sites with information on Latin America. Additional guides are available in related subject areas by clicking the LibGuides link at the top. For assistance, please contact the Reference Desk listed on the right side of this page.
- HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies
An important bibliography on Latin America prepared by scholars for the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Provides annotated citations to books and journals in the humanities and social sciences.
- LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center
Comprehensive site at the University of Texas with links to a multitude of Latin American resources on the internet.
- Latin American Political Database
Provides documentary and statistical political information on Latin America, including constitutions, electoral laws, legislative and executive branch information, and election data. General information, current news, government and political party information, national symbols and anthems, newspaper links are included. This searchable site is provided in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
- Library of Congress Country Studies/Area Handbooks
This series of books is prepared by a division of the Library of Congress in cooperation with the Department of the Army. The series presently contains studies of 71 countries. The following Latin American countries are included: Bolivia, Chile, Columbia, Commonwealth of Carribbean Islands, Dominican Republic & Haiti, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guyana & Belize, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela.
- Library of Congress Hispanic Reading Room
Search Hispanic collection of the Library of Congress.
- Yahoo's List on Latin America
Contact a librarian for help